Lena Dunham Covers Vogue

Lena Dunham gives good face on the cover of the February Vogue.

Lena Dunham Vogue Cover

Really good face…

Like, practically a Twiggy face.

I love that Lena still gets to be her quirky, pretty self.  Of course, since the cover is a close up on Dunham’s STUH-NING face, it was bound to draw comparisons to the recent Mindy Kaling Elle cover. In my opinion, Mindy’s cover should have never gotten the criticism that it did.  She looked beautiful.  I hate that the story wasn’t applauding four beautiful, and funny women, each with their own fashion magazine cover.  The story was pitting them against each other and basically calling Mindy fat in the process.

Personally, I prefer face covers on magazines.  We shouldn’t be focused on a woman’s body.  It’s about showing personality.  It’s about the face.  I applaud Vogue and Elle for putting smart, and funny women on their covers and not trying to turn them into models.  They still get to keep their identity.

The Globe and Mail seems to have a different opinion asking if Vogue played it safe with this cover and surprise, it was written by a man. He even has the gall to say that “she’s practically an old-school librarian.” I think that is so offensive.  How did that ever get printed??  I hate negativity for no reason.  I especially hate a man making fun of a woman’s appearance.  How does something so misogynistic get printed by national news?  Where are we ladies?  We can’t stand for blatant sexism like this.

But I’m not going to focus on the negative. I’m just going to focus on Lena’s beautiful face.